Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Register
Become a Certified Multiple Sclerosis Healthcare Associate
Share |


Multiple Sclerosis is a complex and lifelong neurological disease that affects many aspects of an individual’s life. Management across the lifetime of multiple sclerosis will require the expertise of multiple disciplines working together to meet the dynamic needs of the person and the family. Rapid advances in the treatment of multiple sclerosis require that health professionals have the basic knowledge and skills necessary to provide optimal care. The Consortium of Multiple Sclerosis Centers supports a voluntary certification process that reflects the knowledge of multiple disciplines in the specialized area of multiple sclerosis care. The MSHA Certification provides formal recognition of a specialized body of knowledge felt to be necessary to provide optimal care to those individuals and families living with multiple sclerosis.

Certification is intended to promote quality and consistent care to those living with multiple sclerosis by:

  • Formally recognizing knowledge across the multiple disciplines that are necessary for multiple sclerosis care delivery.
  • Establishing a level of knowledge required to become a Multiple Sclerosis Healthcare Associate
  • Certification. Providing encouragement for continued personal and professional growth in the care of individuals with multiple sclerosis.
  • Providing a standard of knowledge requisite for certification, thereby assisting the employer, public, and members of the health professions in the assessment of healthcare professionals involved in multiple sclerosis care.


What Content Is Covered in the Examination

The MSHA Examination is a computer-based examination composed of a maximum of 100 multiple-choice, objective questions with a total testing time of two (2) hours. 

The questions for the examination are obtained from individuals with expertise in multiple sclerosis and are reviewed for construction, accuracy, and appropriateness by the CMSC. The CMSC, with the advice and assistance of the Professional Testing Corporation, prepares the examination.

The MSHA Examination will be weighted in approximately the following manner:

  • Fundamental of Multiple Sclerosis 25%
  • Multidisciplinary Management of Multiple Sclerosis 60%
  • Patient Empowerment 15%

Who is Eligible for the Examination?

It is suggested that candidates have a minimum of one year of experience in providing services for or interacting with individuals with multiple sclerosis. Candidates must meet the following requirements:
  • Have completed a healthcare associate program (e.g. medical assistant, physical therapy assistant, nursing assistant, etc.) and be currently practicing in your field. A copy of your transcript, diploma, letter of completion, etc. must be submitted with your application.
  • Complete and submit the application and examination fee on or before the application deadline. 

What is the Cost for Applying

  • Examination fee: $225.00 USD
  • Payment by Visa, Master Card or check is accepted (Checks must be made payable to PTC)
  • Online Registration is available at

Examination Process

The Certification Examination is administered twice a year during an established two-week testing period on a daily basis, Monday through Saturday, excluding holidays, at computer-based testing facilities managed by PSI. PSI has several hundred testing sites in the United States, as well as Canada. Scheduling is done on a first-come, first-served basis. To find a testing center near you, visit or call 1-800-733-9267.

Please note: Hours and days of availability vary at different centers. To schedule your examination appointment, you must have received a Scheduling Authorization first from PTC.

When and Where will the Examination be Given

Examinations will be given in testing centers over two-week periods twice a year via computer. Check PTC (Professional Testing Corporation) for final schedule. The next examination dates are:


Application Deadline: December 8th, 2020

First Day of Testing: Saturday, January 9th, 2021

Last Day of Testing: Saturday, January 23rd, 2021



Application Deadline: May 5th, 2021

Day of Testing: Saturday, June 2nd, 2021

Paper/Pencil examination; Conference exam: San Diego, CA only



Application Deadline: May 5th, 2021

First Day of Testing: Saturday, June 5th, 2021

Last Day of Testing: Saturday, June 19th, 2021

Obtain a Handbook for Candidates and Application

Visit PTC to download a PDF version of the Handbook. Candidates can also apply online.

For more information, please contact:

Professional Testing Corporation
1350 Broadway, 17th floor
New York, NY 10018
Phone: 212-356-0660

Fax: 212-356-0678

The Consortium of Multiple Sclerosis Centers

3 University Plaza Drive, Suite 116 Hackensack, NJ 07601

Tel: 201.487.1050 | Fax: 862.772.7275