Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Register
Become a Multiple Sclerosis Certified Specialist
Share |
The Who, What, Where, When and Why of Multiple Sclerosis Specialization

Multiple Sclerosis is a complex and lifelong neurological disease that affects many aspects of an individual's life. Management across the lifetime of multiple sclerosis will require the expertise of multiple disciplines working together to meet the dynamic needs of the person and the family. Rapid advances in the treatment of multiple sclerosis require that health professionals have the basic knowledge and skills necessary to provide optimal care.

The Consortium of Multiple Sclerosis Centers supports a voluntary certification process that reflects knowledge of multiple disciplines in the specialized are of multiple sclerosis care. The Multiple Sclerosis Specialist Certified Specialist examination provides formal recognition of a specialized body of knowledge felt to be necessary to provide optimal care to those individuals and families living with multiple sclerosis.

Certification is intended to promote quality and consistent care to those living with multiple sclerosis by:

  1. Formally recognizing knowledge across the multiple disciplines that are necessary for multiple sclerosis care delivery.
  2. Establishing a level of knowledge required for Multiple Sclerosis Specialist Certification.
  3. Providing encouragement for continued personal and professional growth in the care of individuals with multiple sclerosis
  4. Providing a standard of knowledge requisite for certification, thereby assisting the employer, public, and members of health professions in the assessment of healthcare professionals involved in multiple sclerosis care.

The Multiple Sclerosis Certified Specialist Examination is a computer-based examination composed of a maximum of 150 multiple-choice, objective questions with a total testing time of two (2) hours. The questions for the examination are obtained from individuals with expertise in multiple sclerosis and are reviewed for construction, accuracy, and appropriateness by the CMSC. The CMSC, with the advice and assistance of the Professional Testing Corporation, prepares the examination.

Who is Eligible for the Examination?

  • Currently licensed (or appropriate equivalent) healthcare professionals. A copy of your license or certification must be submitted with your application.
  • It is suggested that candidates have a minimum of one year experience in providing services for or interacting with individuals with multiple sclerosis.
  • Candidates must fill out and submit the application and examination fee on or before the application deadline.

What Content Is Covered in the Examination?

The Multiple Sclerosis Certified Specialist Examination will be weighed in approximately the following manner:

  • Fundamentals of MS - 25%
  • Multidisciplinary MS Care - 60%
  • Patient Empowerment - 15%

A practice test consisting of 50 questions with a testing time of 2 hours is available online in order to assist candidates in preparing for the Multiple Sclerosis Certified Specialist examination. The practice test is meant to provide candidates with an example of the type of content included in the Multiple Sclerosis Certified Specialist examination, such as question format, style and level of difficulty. The practice test can be found at the PTC website.

What is the Cost for Applying?

  • Examination fee: $345.00 USD
  • Payment by Visa, Master Card or check is accepted (Checks must be made payable to PTC)
  • Online Registration is available at
When and Where will the Examination be Given?

The Multiple Sclerosis Certified Specialist examination is administered twice a year during an established two-week testing period on a daily basis, Monday through Saturday, excluding holidays, at computer-based testing facilities managed by PSI. PSI has several hundred testing sites in the United States as week as Canada. Scheduling is done on a first-come, first-served basis, To find a testing center near you visit PSI or call 1-800-733-9267.

Please note: Hours and days of availability vary at different centers. To schedule your examination appointment you must have received a Scheduling Authorization first from PTC.


Application Deadline: January 8th, 2020

First Day of Testing: Saturday, February 1st, 2020

Last Day of Testing: Saturday, February 15th, 2020


Application Deadline: May 6th, 2020

Day of Testing: Wednesday, May 27th, 2020

Paper/Pencil examination; Conference exam: Orlando, FL only


Application Deadline: May 6th, 2020

First Day of Testing: Saturday, June 6th, 2020

Last Day of Testing: Saturday, June 20th, 2020

For More Information

Handbook for Candidates and application form are available at: PTCNY

For more information contact: 

Professional Testing Corporation

1350 Broadway, 17th Floor

New York, NY 10018

Phone: 212-356-0660

Fax: 212-356-0678

The Consortium of Multiple Sclerosis Centers

3 University Plaza Drive, Suite 116 Hackensack, NJ 07601

Tel: 201.487.1050 | Fax: 862.772.7275